Video for Business · Video Making · Wedding Videos

Everyone Can Make Video

Last Sunday, I conducted a DSLR Video Making Workshop.

PLEASANT SURPRISE

I was honored by the number of participants who willing to give me this opportunity to share my knowledge, mistakes and experiences about video making. This workshop will never be a success without them giving this chance.

It was amazing that I got to learn from the participants themselves. Ranging from secondary school students to working professionals. With sharing of our own video making journey and mistakes, I, personally, benefited from it immensely.

I would like to thank everyone who spent the whole Sunday with me.

DSLR video making workshop

THE EXTRA EDGE

Initially, it was planned to be an internal training between me and partner. We were trying to close up the gaps we had in 2015 so we can better ourselves in 2016. I was thinking, what if I tried to open up to video hobbyists ?

OCT 2011 – MY STARTING POINT

I know when I first started, I need that a little bit extra to make my video look good. Make myself feel good. I want to know and learn how others do it. I do not have that opportunity back then. On top of that, all the courses I signed up were cancelled at the last min due to lack of participation. I have to make a lot of mistakes before I can nailed it.

I want to help people to jump start or a head start in their own video making journey. I want to help people to focus on things that matters, works. I make it happen last Sunday. It was so awesome and humbling.

DSLR Video Making Workshop SingaporeWHAT WAS COVERED ?

My intention was to equip the participants with a set of skills in terms of shooting and editing. I hope with this set of skills, they are able to make better videos, increase their quality and for some, it is about increase their pricing in their video business.

Some of the concepts or fundamentals that were covered :-

  1. Don’t just press the record button, create your story. Let the world know about your opinions.
  2. How to move your audience with FRAMING.
  3. Editing starts when you shoot NOT at your workstation.
  4. Basic color correction and TRANSFORMERS shadows color grading.
  5. RETURN OF INVESTMENT in equipment purchase.
  6. VIDEOGRAPHY vs CINEMATOGRAPHY
  7. Instagram video making – struture

dslr video makingEVERYTHING WERE NOT ROSY, THOUGH

Firstly, I was down with a cold and sore throat. Somehow I was really upbeat about this workshop. I really do not know where I muster my energy to conduct this course. Trust me, RAW HONEY really works as a quick remedy for sore throat.

Second, I welcome anyone with a different set-up. Like Nikon and FCP users. It was a totally different workflow. I am thankful to have Tsaqib Rahman, a freelance wedding professional to assist me. Totally awesome.

Third, I went too fast with the editing part till some were unable to follow. Plus, the projector did not project the actual scale of my laptop monitor. And the bad part was, the projector were not color corrected. It wasn’t a good representation of my color grading. To such extent, I had to go table to table to show how it looked.

dslr video making workshopFEEDBACK

The feedback about the course is GOLD. For me, it is about bettering and improving. It is about creating an enriching experience for the future.

 

A couple of the participants already asking for a one to one mentoring. Another were asking to do a practical shooting workshop. Well, already planning for it. Looking at Feb 2016.


If you are into video making or just started or just want to make video for fun, sign up for my monthly updates about video making tips/guides. I will update about future workshops or outings.

Wordpress Sela Theme - Featured Image Post

One thought on “Everyone Can Make Video

Leave a Reply

