Video Making

Singapore Paintball Series 2014 – Leg 1 [YouTube Settings Drives Me Crazy]

Recently, I covered Singapore Paintball Series 2014 – Leg 1, the only major paintball tournament in Singapore.

This time around, it is so special because the tournament welcomed couple of top paintball teams around the South East Asia region. We have teams from Thailand, Malaysia, Brunei, Phillipines and Guam. What a sight!

Another special this leg is the first time that paintballers are playing on a turf field! I wished I could play.

Another special, after couple of months of no rain, it rained over the weekend. Someone said, “It is always rain during Singapore Paintball Series”. Well, it came true.

Anyway, I am not going to share how I shot the event because pretty much is what I have shared all my mistakes and experiences all these times.

But, what I am going to share is my experiences uploading to YouTube.

As usual, after edit and video treatment, I will usually use the normal settings I have used all these while BUT! The quality was so bad. The first one, my colours were all blown out and they appeared in blocks. These were so apparent when playing back in full screen. Seriously, I do not know what happened. I spent almost 4 days exporting and uploading to YouTube. The video shown above is the best one so far.

So, you can read up more on YouTube advance settings here

I am going to share with you guys couple of the short videos I exported with different settings and uploaded into YouTube. You can compare the different settings and its quality. My concerns were the sharpness of the video, retention of colours and the appearance of blocks, which I do not want!

The first one; I used YouTube Advance Settings

The second one; I tried to export using 1080p 25fps preset

The one that I found to be of good quality. This is the export settings I used for my final upload.

What are the things that you really to take note :-

1. If you are shooting at 50/60fps, you need to convert in post. Do not allow YouTube convert it for you.

2. Use Max Render Quality. Max Render Depth and Frame Blending, I personally think it doesn’t make a difference.

3. Try to match your source data bitrate with your export video. As you see in my final 3rd video, max data bitrate was at 50mbps because my highest bitrate for couple video clips were 47mbps.

4. Always capture good exposed video clips and lower those ISO settings.

5. Trust me, Vimeo has better compression than YouTube. Still, Vimeo will not convert 60fps into web 60fps. Do your own conversion in post.

This may not serve as a great tool. This is more of sharing what I have done. As my learning journey continues, the quest for good quality playback is very important to me. After this experience, I still prefer Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

