Home > Video Shooting > We come to love by learning to see an imperfect someone perfectly

We come to love by learning to see an imperfect someone perfectly

This is my first wedding video for 2014. This is my first wedding video gig that I tried quite a number of things compared to my past experiences.

1. HANDHELD SHOOTING

- 50% of the time, during the wedding event, I shot handheld. Which is something that is not encouraged when I first started my learning journey. Reasons shared to me by others are :-

  1. Customers don’t like shaky footages.
  2. It doesn’t give that professional look or film like feel.
  3. If need to, have to do it very creatively.

- I thought I would like to give it a try. My approach in shooting handheld were :-

  1. to give a feel of “short burst” of memory lapses in the video.
  2. Second, I would want to bring the attention of the viewers to certain things.
  3. Lastly, it has to be of a Mid Shot or Close Up Shot

I guess it worked for me.

2. GETTING MORE OUT OF IT

- I was trying to do more than my previous wedding videos. I want to add in real sacrifices, emotions, words of encouragement, love journey, that kind of stuff. So, I pre-planned whom I want to start first and the questions that I want to ask.

  • First stop – The Couple.

They were kinda camera shy. As much as I want to get their story during the event, I also do not want to make the overall experience a bad one. So, I tried not to push as much as I can. I knew, they are quite overwhelmed with the solemnization experience.

  • Second stop – The Parents

Oh boy, I was in for a surprise. The parents were so co-operative and supportive in what I wanted from them. Not only that, they gave me more than what I expected. Some of the questions that I asked were :-

  1. ” What were sacrifices you made for your marriage ? “
  2. ” What mistakes that you would not want your kids to make in their marriage ? “

Nevertheless, I was thankful that they shared their experiences. I cried while shooting. Their advises that I used for my own. What they did, made me remembered what my dad told me one month after I got married. It was a good Dad to Son talk.

  • Third stop – ?

No need. But I prepared, if I cannot get something out of the parents, I would try their Uncles and Aunties, Friends. If still, I cannot get something, I have to use Qadi’s speech as my first layer of story.

3. IMAGE STABILIZATION

- As I have mentioned earlier, 50% of the time I was shooting handheld. When I reviewed the footages at home, only then I realized that my Samyang 35mm did not has a IS function as it is a manual lens. Even I managed to stabilize the shot while shooting, it has this “frequent bumpy jittery” effects. Darn!

- I did not have this problem if I am using a stabilizer, monopod or tripod. I need to figure out a way on how to minimize the jittery effect while shooting handheld.

4. ACTUAL DAY SCHEDULE

- I planned all the “story-based” interviews shots during the solmenization. I felt that everyone affected will be overwhelmed with the feeling. The couple just married. The parents have to let go of their son and daughter. If I were to do this during the wedding reception, I may not have that feel. If you know what I mean.

5. MANAGED EXPECTATIONS

- Prior to the wedding, over the period of 3 months, I shared my ideas with the couple. I gave them a rough idea of how the final video going to be. Honestly, it was only about 30-40% of what the original plan.

- Not only that, I asked the couple before hand whether are they willing to take risks with me. I do not allow them to have say or ideas or inputs for their wedding video. How I shoot and how I piece all of them together is will be solely based on my directions and feel. They do not mind. Even they give me the green light, I still do feel the need to manage the expectations between us.

- My heart sank when I saw the bride shed a tear while watching the video. I was so afraid because 80% of people that I showed to, mentioned that it was kinda off and weird. When I saw the bride shed a tear, I took it a sign of approval, a sign of they like it.

So, what do you think ?

By the way, do check out http://www.orangefill.com and like our page OrangeFill Fanpage 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

